T20 WC 2021: India’s first defeat in World Cup history against Pakistan

In the T20 World Cup 2021, India has to face defeat badly against Pakistan in its very first match. And with this, the record of never losing to Pakistan in the World Cup was also broken. So today we will give complete information about the match between India and Pakistan yesterday.

As everyone knows that T20 World Cup has started on 17th October 2021. Everyone was waiting for the match between India and Pakistan to be held on October 24, in which India has to face defeat.

T20 WC 2021: India's first defeat in World Cup history against Pakistan


Talking about the toss, the Pakistan team won the toss and decided to bowl first. This decision went in favour of Pakistan and got their first win in the World Cup against India.

Also Read: Virat Kohli to step down as a Captain from ODI and T20 format

Time, Date & Venue

This great match of India vs Pakistan was played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai.

MatchIND vs PAK
Date24 October 2021
Time07:30 PM
TossPak won the toss
VenueDubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai
UmpiresMarais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney
Third UmpiresRichard Illingworth

Playing XI

India & Pakistan Team

1Rohit SharmaBabar Azam (C)
2KL RahulMohammad Rizwan (Wk)
3Virat Kohli (C)Fakhar Zaman
4Suryakumar YadavMohammad Hafeez
5Rishabh Pant (Wk)Shoaib Malik
6Hardik PandyaAsif Ali
7Ravindra JadejaImad Wasim
8Bhuvneshwar KumarShadab Khan
9Mohammed ShamiHasan Ali
10Varun ChakravarthyHaris Rauf
11Jasprit BumrahShaheen Afridi

Also Read: Babar Azam obtained ‘indignant’ after dropping the sequence, set a world report for the quickest to attain 14 centuries

India Innings

India had a very poor start and Rohit Sharma was dismissed for 0 run by Shaheen Afridi. After that, in the very next over, KL Rahul was also dismissed by Shaheen Afridi after scoring only 3 runs. In this way, India had lost both its openers for just 6 runs.

After that Suryakumar Yadav hit a six off Shaheen Afridi, then it seemed that India was back in this match, but Suryakumar Yadav also got out after scoring 11 runs and India lost their 3 wickets for just 31 runs. After that, there was a 53-run partnership between Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant, and India’s fourth wicket fell for 84 runs.

Rishabh Pant is playing his first World Cup and even under so much pressure from above, Pant batted brilliantly and helped India reach a respectable score. Even after that, apart from Virat Kohli, no other Indian batsman could score a big score. Virat Kohli not only scored a half-century, but even after being under so much pressure, Team India reached the score of 151 runs.

T20 WC 2021: India's first defeat in World Cup history against Pakistan

For Pakistan, Shaheen Afridi took 3 wickets in 4 overs, Hasan Ali took 2 and Shadab Khan and Haris Rauf took one wicket each.

Pakistan Innings

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan, who came from Pakistan after bowling out the Indian team for 151 runs, gave a good start. And both the openers batted very patiently and scored runs against all the bowlers of the Indian team.

Mohammad Rizwan, batting brilliantly, scored 79 runs in 55 balls and was not out till the end and led the Pakistan team to victory. On the other hand, Pakistan captain Babar Azam scored 68 runs in 52 balls and he was not out till the end.

T20 WC 2021: India's first defeat in World Cup history against Pakistan

And thus the Pakistan team created history by winning this match by 10 wickets.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, and Varun Chakravarthy did not get a single wicket while bowling for India.

T20 WC 2021: India's first defeat in World Cup history against Pakistan

Also Read: India T20 world cup squad announced, Chahal, Dhawan snubbed!

So let’s now talk about all the World Cup matches played between India and Pakistan.

Previous 50-over World Cup Match Results

First, let’s talk about 50-over world cup matches between India and Pakistan.

1992Ind vs PakSydneySachin TendulkarIndia
1996Ind vs PakBengaluruNavjot SidhuIndia
1999Ind vs PakManchesterVenkatesh PrasadIndia
2003Ind vs PakCenturionSachin TendulkarIndia
2011Ind vs PakMohali (Semifinal)Sachin TendulkarIndia
2015Ind vs PakAdelaideVirat KohliIndia
2019Ind vs PakManchesterRohit SharmaIndia

*MoM – Man of the Match

Previous T20 World Cup Match Results

Now, let’s talk about the T20 world cup matches between India and Pakistan.

2007Ind vs PakDurbanMohammad AsifIndia
2007Ind vs PakJohannesburg (Final)Irfan PathanIndia
2012Ind vs PakColomboVirat KohliIndia
2014Ind vs PakDhakaAmit MishraIndia
2016Ind vs PakKolkataVirat KohliIndia
2021Ind vs PakDubaiShaheen AfridiPakistan

I hope you liked the information given by us. To get more such information, allow our push notifications and share this article.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles